Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
About News
Board Members
LOT Luminaries
Member Spotlight
Press & Media
NBMBAA® New Jersey Chapter


Sonya Ruffin

Sonya Ruffin, New Jersey Chapter President

The NBMBAA® – New Jersey Chapter, formed in 1983 and incorporated in the State of New Jersey in 1989, has over 325 members with professional experience acquired from both public and private sector organizations.  Members are actively engaged in a variety of fields including marketing, finance, accounting, human resources, information technology, telecommunications, general management, in the for-profit and non-profit arena, as well as involved in entrepreneurial endeavors.  The New Jersey Chapter has won many accolades over the years, such as the 2017 Channel Award for Entrepreneurship Chapter of the Year; 2013 & 2015 Leaders of Tomorrow® Chapter of the Year.

As we embark on the new era of “Inclusion and Diversity,” there is more of an emphasis to foster an inclusive culture, along with the need for a diverse workforce. The New Jersey Chapter is chartered with engaging our corporate partners and the community at large on the importance of inclusiveness and belonging in order to make a significant impact on strategic initiatives.

Members are encouraged to share their expertise by participating in various chapter activities which focus on three themes: career and professional development, cultivating partnerships with local businesses, and community service, with a special emphasis placed on the intellectual development of our youth.

We invite you to review our website, attend our events and get more involved in the “Power of Belonging.”  Together we are “Jersey-Strong” and we can do great things!

Learn More

Call: (732) 246-2878
New Jersey Chapter NBMBAA
P.O. Box 28023, Newark NJ 07101

Chapter Honors & Awards

2017 Channel Award Winner – Entrepreneurship

2013 & 2015 LOT® Chapter of the Year

National LOT® Business Case Competition:

2016, Second Place

2014, Second Place

2012, First Place

2011, Third Place

Local Scholarship Programs